William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator Award

Spicer Young Investigator Award — Nominations due August 1

William E. Spicer (1929-2004) was an esteemed member of the international scientific community as a teacher and researcher in electrical engineering, applied physics and materials science. Bill spent his last 40 years as a professor at Stanford where he pioneered the technique of ultraviolet photoemission spectroscopy and its subsequent expansion into the use of synchrotron radiation. In 1972, Bill together with Sebastian Doniach founded the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Project which evolved into today's SSRL. He was a prolific author with over 700 works and the recipient of many honors and awards including the Lifetime Mentor Award by the AAAS in 2000, reflecting his tireless effort on the behalf of under-represented minorities and women. Though retired for some years, Bill continued to actively advise students at SSRL up until his death.

Recipients of the William E. Spicer Award:

  • Jeffrey Lee, (Scripps) 2010
  • Yulin Chen, (SIMES) 2009
  • R. Joseph Kline (NIST) 2008
  • Hugh Harris (University of Adelaide) 2007
  • Adrian Cavalieri (Max Planck) and David Fritz (SSRL) 2006
  • Stéphane Richard (Salk Institute) 2005
  • Peter Armitage (Johns Hopkins University) 2004

In honor of his many professional and personal contributions to our community, SSRL and the SSRL Users' Organization established the William E. Spicer Young Investigator Award in 2004. The award was modified in 2009 to accept additional donations to acknowledge and honor Diane M. Spicer, who passed away in April 2009. The Spicer Award will be presented at the annual users' meeting to a new investigator who has made important technical or scientific contributions that benefit from or are beneficial to SSRL or to the lightsource community overall. The $1,000 award is open to senior graduate students and those within seven years of entry into their professional scientific field at the time of nomination. Awardee names are added to a plaque displayed in the SSRL User Research Administration Office.

All SSRL users and staff are eligible for this award (joint or group awards are not encouraged). Nomination packages should include a letter of nomination as well as the candidate's curriculm vitae and publications; supporting letters are encouraged. Nomination packages should summarize the technical or scientific contributions of the candidate and need to be received by the August 1st deadline to be considered. Nominations should be forwarded via e-mail, regular mail or fax to:

c/o Cathy Knotts
Manager, User Research Administration

2575 Sand Hill Road, SLAC MS 99
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Tel. 650-926-3191
Fax. 650-926-3600

Nominations received by the August 1st deadline will be reviewed by the selection committee. The Award will be presented at the annual users' meeting. The awardee will be asked to give a presentation on his/her research during the plenary session.