Robert H. Siemann Symposium Program

- Date: Tuesday, July 7th, 2009
- Location: SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
- Building: Kavli Auditorium (building 51)

Symposium program is now available for download in PDF format .

Time Event Speaker Talk
8:00 am Registration & Coffee – Auditorium Breezeway
First Morning Session: Welcome, Early Days
9:00 am Welcome Persis Drell
9:20 am Experimental Particle Physics Roger Erickson
9:30 am Evolution from Particle Physics to Accelerator Physics Richard Talman
10:00 am Mentor, CESR Days Gerry Jackson
10:30 am Coffee Break – Auditorium Breezeway  
Second Morning Session: From Cornell to SLAC
10:50 am Post-doc at SLAC and return as Professor Burt Richter
11:20 am Professor, Scientist; SLC Days Tor Raubenheimer
11:50 am Through his student’s eyes:  
  - SLC and the Sawtooth Boris Podobedov
  - W-Band and 1 GeV/m Ping-Jung Chou
  - Pulsed Heating David Pritzkau
12:20 pm Lunch—registered participants only – Fee Required  
First Afternoon Session: Leadership in Accelerator Physics
1:20 pm Leadership at SNS Stuart Henderson
1:50 pm Plasma Accelerators Tom Katsouleas
2:20 pm Through his student’s eyes: Plasma Accelerators Chris Barnes
2:30 pm Laser Accelerators Bob Byer
3:00 pm Through his student’s eyes: Laser Accelerators Ben Cowan
3:10 pm Coffee Break – Auditorium Breezeway  
Second Afternoon Session: Legacy, Closing, & Tree Dedication
3:30 pm USPAS, DPB, and the view from DOE Dave Sutter
3:50 pm Creation of PRST-AB, NSLS Days Marty Blume  
4:20 pm Comments from the Family The Siemann Family
4:40 pm Remarks from the APS-DPB Chair on behalf of the APS Swapan Chattopadhyay
4:50 pm Closing retrospective; Acknowledgements Eric Colby
5:00 pm Tree dedication on the Green and group photo  
5:15 pm Reception—registered participants only – Fee Required